Friday, January 31 | 7:30 pm | Centennial Concert Hall

“A Symphonie Fantastique for our times,”

—London Times on Metropolis Symphony

Daniel Raiskin and the WSO retake the stage on closing night to present epic works by four international luminaries of contemporary music.

The program features the Canadian premieres of two works originally commissioned by Staatsorchester Rheinische Philharmonie under our very own Maestro Raiskin, to whom they are dedicated: Lera Auerbach’s Eterniday, an homage to the great W.A. Mozart in her unique voice, and Benjamin Staern’s Wave Movements, which explores the dynamic physical properties of bodies of water in motion.

Star Icelandic composer Daníel Bjarnason’s All Sounds to Silence Come is a beautifully textured, celestial soundscape that blurs the line between classical and electronic musical idioms, drawing freely from the intellectual rigor of the classical tradition while living in the spontaneity and experimentalism of new music.

Capping off the festival is Distinguished Guest Composer Michael Daugherty’s modern classic Metropolis Symphony, a massive multi-movement work that builds its colorful, energizing, and evocative soundworld on the foundation of one of our civilization’s enduring modern mythoi: DC Comics’ Superman universe.

Lena Auerbach – Eterniday
Daníel Bjarnason – All Sounds to Silence Come
Benjamin Staern – Wave Movements 
Michael Daugherty – Metropolis Symphony

Daniel Raiskin, conductor